Tomato Rice with Mushroom and Pork using Rice Cooker

Rice cooker is one of the most useful kitchen gadget if you know how to use it. It can use to cook rice (ya I am afraid u don’t know haha), soup, congee, bake cake. 

Being the noob me, I only know how to cook rice with it. Haha but recently, there’s this trend on tomato rice! It’s healthier and more yummy than white rice. 

But my version, I put white button mushroom and lean pork meat to give it more oomph! 

I can say it is a success recipe! It is easy basically just wash, cut and throw in and let the cooker do its own magic! 

I can almost foresee that this shall be one of my favourite and go-to recipe if I am lazy! 

Ingredients

  1. 1 tomato (duhz haha) 
  2. 250-300g lean pork
  3. 4 White button mushroom 
  4. Oil (2-3 Tbsp)
  5. Salt (a pinch)
  6. Pepper (3 dash)
  7. Stock (optional). I used one tbsp scallop stock. You can replace with chicken stock. 
  8. 2-3 cups rice

Method:

  1. Cut meat into small cubes. Marinate with light soya sauce, pepper, salt. Leave for 1-2 hours. 
  2.  Wash rice (can water plants with the rice water.. Environmental friendly ya!)
  3. remove tomato stem, cut cross on top 
  4. Wash and slice white button mushroom 
  5. Put usual amount of water u use to cook rice into rice cooker. Then remove 6-8 tbsp of water.. (This is most important step because tomato will produce water. You don’t want wet rice unless u don’t mind!)
  6. Put all into rice cooker with oil, salt and pepper and stock. 
  7. Cook 
  8. Serve! (Tip: I drizzled a bit of sesame oil to enhance the fragrance)

Tomato Rice with Pork and Mushroom
cooked tomato rice with pork and mushroom
Tomato Rice served!

Leave a Reply

